Local Schools Receive Safety Grants From New State Program

Several schools in the 21st Senatorial District were awarded state grants to help improve student safety through a new program supported by Senator Scott Hutchinson.

The School Safety and Security Grant Program was created by lawmakers earlier this year to provide grants to school districts, intermediate units, area vocational-technical schools, charter schools and private residential rehabilitative institutions for a wide variety of projects to improve school safety.

Eligible uses for the grants include hiring school security officers, purchasing security-related technology, completing safety and security assessments, implementing violence prevention curricula, offering counseling services for students, and creating other programs to protect students.

Each local school district that applied through the program was awarded a grant of $25,000. Local grant recipients include:

Butler County

Butler Area School District, Karns City Area School District, Mars Area School District, Moniteau  School District, Seneca Valley School District, Slippery Rock Area School District and South Butler Area School District.

Clarion County

Allegheny-Clarion School District, Clarion Area School District, Clarion-Limestone School District, Keystone School District, North Clarion County School District, Redbank Valley School District and Union School District.

Crawford County

Penncrest School District

Forest County

Forest Area School District

Venango County

Cranberry Area School District, Franklin Area School District, Oil City Area School District, Titusville Area School District and Valley Grove School District.

Warren County

Warren County School District.

The new program was created as part of a comprehensive school safety bill that was signed into law in June. More than $60 million in new funding was dedicated in the current year’s budget to improve school safety, the Senator said.

More information on school safety measures under consideration in the General Assembly is available online at https://www.pasenategop.com/school-safety/.

Contact:          Justin Leventry           (717) 787-9684


Back to Top