School Safety Grants Awarded in Local Communities

School safety grants totaling more than $2 million were awarded today to a number of school districts and Intermediate Unit 5, which serve students in the 21st Senatorial District, according to Senator Scott Hutchinson. Eligible uses for the grants include hiring school security officers, purchasing security-related technology, completing safety and security assessments, implementing violence prevention curricula, offering counseling services for students, and creating other programs to protect students.

“This funding provides these school districts with additional financial support to enhance the safety of students in their classrooms,” said Senator Hutchinson. “It is important that we take all appropriate and necessary steps to ensure our young people can feel safe in their classrooms and schools.”

School District County Amount
Butler Area Butler $45,000
Karns City Area Butler $35,000
Mars Area Butler $40,000
Moniteau Butler $35,000
Seneca Valley Butler $181,000
Slippery Rock Area Butler $35,000
South Butler County Butler $405,054
Allegheny-Clarion Valley Clarion $30,000
Clarion Area Clarion $30,000
Clarion-Limestone Area Clarion $30,000
Keystone Clarion $30,000
North Clarion County Clarion $30,000
Redbank Valley Clarion $247,043
Union Clarion $30,000
Penncrest Crawford/Venango $40,000
IU-5 Crawford/Erie/Warren $403,969
Forest Area Forest $30,000
Cranberry Area Venango $30,000
Franklin Area Venango $35,000
Oil City Area Venango $35,000
Titusville Area Venango $35,000
Valley Grove Venango $30,000
Warren County Warren $212,355

The grants were awarded by the School Safety and Security Committee within the Pennsylvania Commission on Crime and Delinquency (PCCD) as part of the School Safety and Security Grant Program, which was created by lawmakers in 2018.

A total of approximately $53.7 million was awarded for 524 projects throughout the state in the current round of funding. PCCD received a total of 970 applications totaling $134.5 million for school safety projects in the current Fiscal Year.

Contact:          Justin Leventry           (717) 787-9684.


Back to Top